You are here

Lineage 2 Review

By sxweb | 25 July 2019
Average: 7.3 (10 votes)

Lineage 2 is an MMORPG developed by NCSOFT E&G Studious. Tencent Holdings published the game for China and Innova Co. for Russia and the EU.

  • One of the most popular MMORPGs ever
  • A game that brings people together
  • Regular addons with new game content
  • Well-thought-out character class system

Lineage 2 Gameplay

The plot of Lineage 2 is pretty simple. There are two continents and three kingdoms on them fighting between each other. You have to choose a side in this conflict and take part in it. Your character’s story begins in the starting location, unique to each class. After reaching level 15-20, you will leave it to find your place in the world of Lineage.

The first step after entering the game is character creation. At this point, you will need to create your hero and pick a name. After creating a character, you can’t change its race and gender anymore, but you can change the appearance using special potions or by purchasing an item in a beauty shop. Besides, the game has a variety of equipment that you can buy, find, or create yourself. Also, you can choose one of the seven races represented in Lineage.

One of the main features of the Lineage is a well-thought-out class system that is unique to each race. All classes split into two types: some use magical abilities and intelligence, while others focus on the physical capabilities of the character. Character class development called a profession. Professions will open during the game. You can also get a dual-profession and even become a Noblesse and get additional skills. The Noblesse status also allows you to participate in the inter-server PVP event called the World Olympics.

After creating the character, you find yourself in the world of Lineage. You are looking at your hero from a third-person view. It is possible to switch the camera to the game from the first-person perspective, but this is not convenient. The game has many locations containing a variety of quests, mobs, and items. As you upgrade, you can open up new opportunities, becoming more and more grandiose with each level. But here lies the main problem of the game: you have to spend a lot of time and effort to raise the character level - Lineage 2 is ultimately about the grind. You have a choice: spend many hours on a rational level up or speed up this process by spending real money.

Exploring locations, you will face not only NPCs controlled by AI, but also characters controlled by other players. Very soon, you will need to join a group or clan, because of the mechanics of the game bases on team play model. You can also create your clan if you want. In addition to the advanced social sphere, the game has its in-game economy. You can sell or exchange items with other players.

There are several everyday activities available to players in Lineage 2. You can complete game quests and daily missions, hunt, fight raid bosses, compete with other players in PvP and besiege castles. Besides, you can spend time playing the role of your character and talking with other players.

Lineage 2 Classes

The class system of Lineage 2 is detailed and sophisticated; it has a wide range of classes for every race. All of the roles divided into several categories: tanks, damage dealers, supports, and summoners. Moreover, the game also provides the development line for each class.

The Tank classes are:

The tank classes are available only for elves, dark elves, and humans. These heroes use shields as durable protection which allows consuming the colossal amount of damage.

The Damage Dealer classes are:

Archers — DD classes of the long-distance combat. Archers use bows and similar weapons to cause severe physical damage. This archetype is available for elves, dark elves, humans, and kamael.

Mages — adepts of the magical arts, who use the power of the elements in combat. These heroes consume mana to cause critical damage from a long distance. Only elves, dark elves, and humans can become a mage.

Melee — the users of melee weapons. It’s one of the most common roles because it has full categories separated by the class weapon. The dagger users, fighters without shields, lancers, and gnome classes belong to melee.

The Support classes are:

Buffer — the mages that specialize on the spells that increase combat stats. You can play as a buffer if you’ve chosen an orc or a human character.

Healer — the class that heals and resurrects the allies. There is only one pure healer class in the game, the human Bishop, but elves and dark elves have similar professions too.

Melee support — the hybrid of fighters and heroes, who can cause damage and support teammates. This role is available for both elven races and kamael.

The Summoner classes are:

Elemental Summoner — an Elven class that summons unicorns. This class is useful in team play with mages because ES skills increase mana regeneration.

Phantom Summoner — the summoner of Dark Elves, who uses dark spirits to deal with enemies.

Warlock — a Human summoner. These characters can summon cats to apply different buffs on their teammates.

Lineage 2 System Requirements

Minimum Requirements

  • Memory: 4 GB RAM
  • Graphics Card: Geforce 7600 GT
  • CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 6300
  • File Size: 30 GB
  • OS: Windows 7

Recommended Requirements

  • Memory: 4 GB RAM
  • Graphics Card: Geforce 8600 GT
  • CPU: Intel Core i7 920
  • File Size: 30 GB
  • OS: Windows 7