You are here

Warface Review

By Lissabonfox | 24 March 2020
Average: 8.8 (4 votes)

Warface is an MMOFPS game, developed and published by Crytek studio in 2012.

  • Nine PvP modes
  • Immersive gameplay
  • Five available classes
  • Clan system

Warface Gameplay

Warface is a free-to-play MMO first-person shooter with a story that takes place in the year 2023. Two warring military organizations fight against each other, following their own goals. The game presents a choice of five classes that can take part in nine different trials.

All action of the FPS takes place in various points of the Earth, either in small villages or in big cities and military stations. The gameplay is similar to most classic MMOFPSs, players choose their gear and weapons, search for the match and go into the battle, elimination enemy players or completing specific tasks.

Even though Warface doesn’t have complex lore, the story of this universe can be put together by fragments found in special operations. The PvE missions tell the story of the controversy between the Warface and Blackwood, the military organizations that hire mercenaries for various purposes. In this mode, you can complete objectives all around the world: destroy the enemy bases in Siberian mountains, storm the lab in African volcano, fight with zombies in European scientific laboratories and Egyptian sandstorms, and destroy the Blackwood headquarters at Chernobyl in Ukraine.

Warface game modes consist of:

Blitz — in this mode, each team has different goals. One side must defuse a bomb, and the other one must protect it from diffusion. The task should be completed in 90 seconds. There is only one explosion point on the map, but it has a lot of ways of reaching it, making the game quite tactical.

Bag and Tag — a mode that requires a player to kill everyone present on the map and survive. After eliminating another enemy, a player gets to collect a token which grants an opportunity to receive more points. They also can obtain the token after their own death if they reach the body quicker than the enemy.

Domination — the goal of this mode is to capture and hold multiple control points. Tactics are essential in this mode as it requires team distribution.

Capture — is similar to the classic “capture the flag” mode, where players must obtain the launch codes and bring them to their base.

Team Deathmatch — is a standard mode for online shooters. The goal is to eliminate an enemy team; winners are determined by death limits or death counts.

Battle Royale — a mode in which sixteen players are put on the map against each other. In particular time gaps, the playable zone gets narrower, so players must stay in its borders in order to survive.

Plant the Bomb — is one of the classic modes that requires players to either plant/defuse a bomb or to eliminate the whole enemy team. Winners are determined by amounts of hitpoints or a successful bomb manipulation.

Storm — a mode where players are presented with a goal of capturing three control points. Each one of the points opens up after another one has been successfully captured.

Destruction — a similar mode that requires teams to capture an enemy point and defend it for an established amount of time to cause an airstrike on it. The team which causes three airstrikes wins the match.

Besides more than 60 available PvP maps, Warface offers a multitude of PvE events and quests that give additional rewards and experience points. PvE missions are updated every day and can be completed either in solo or in groups via LFG. PvE events divide into difficulty categories and every difficulty grants exclusive rewards.

In addition to classic PvP and story-driven PvE, you can participate in official esport tournaments. You can participate in battles to climb up the server ladder or join one of the official teams to fight for a seasonal cup. The Warface Tournaments are international events which involves the best players from Russia, Japan, USA, Canada, China, and many other countries.

Warface Classes

Warface features five playable classes, and each one has its unique weapon choice and playstyle.

  • Rifleman — a multipurpose class that is helpful in the fight of any distance. Their choice of weaponry includes assault rifles and machine guns. This class has the ability to supplement their team’s ammo.
  • SED — a heavy-armoured robotic class, designed for holding the positions. They use heavy machine guns and grenade launchers and can also reach non-accessible places for humans.
  • Medic — is a support class, similar to classic healers. Medic is the most effective in close-range battles, so they use shotguns to kill enemies, but they can also attack with a defibrillator. This class can revive and heal their team, although they can’t revive SEDs.
  • Engineer — a sabotage class whose primary ability is planting and defusing bombs. The weaponry of choice is Tommy guns and short rifles. They can repair the gear of their team. They can also revive SEDs, while Medics can’t.
  • Sniper — an only class that has an ability to fight from far distances. The set of sniper skills also includes bombs of circular defeat. This class only utilizes sniper rifles.

Warface System Requirements

Minimum Requirements

  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 DirectX 10.0
  • CPU: Intel DualCore 2.0 GHz
  • File Size: 15 GB
  • OS: Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10

Recommended Requirements

  • Memory: 4 GB
  • Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9600, DirectX 11.0
  • CPU: Intel Core Duo E6-series
  • File Size: 15 GB
  • OS: Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10